The Fragrance of a Thought

A perfectly healthy sentence, it is true, is extremely rare. For the most part we miss the hue and fragrance of the thought; as if we could be satisfied with the dews of the morning or evening without their colors, or the heavens without their azure.
Henry David Thoreau

When I moved from technical writing online to experimentation with fiction, I found I’d forgotten the words. Not all the words, descriptive words.

I forgot about the hues, fragrances, damp dew, evening colors, and azure heavens. I forgot about adjectives. I felt I’d lost them.

Keep the art of the description alive in your writing. Even in technical writing, it can add texture and depth to your content.

5 comments on “The Fragrance of a Thought”

  1. Yes! I’ve looked out at a beautiful scene and wondered how to capture it with words so that the reader would feel the same emotion reading about the scene as I felt seeing it. I still struggle with that.

  2. Lorelle,

    Agreed! A little humor, a beautiful or silly metaphor–they all add depth to technical writing. I always think of the poor souls that read droning instruction manuals. No wonder no one will read them! Reading that is as grating as sitting in the dentist chair.

    Sarah

  3. I stumbled across this shortly after I decided I need to focus more on description. Thank you for this timely discovery.

  4. You are always welcome. Glad I could help.

  5. […] The Fragrance of a Thought (blogyourpassion.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 16,199 other followers

